Without Stain

My family’s motto is “Without Stain” (ar bith máchail in Gaelic). Of course, we haven’t always lived up to it, but the motto of our ancestors reflects the unwavering pursuit of courage, honor, integrity, and excellence in which my family persists to this day, and for which I am immeasurably honored and proud to be a part of it.

The theme of actively pursuing honor, uprightness, integrity – character – is pervasive in Scripture. Here is a very small sample of the array of Scriptural exhortations to pursue such virtues. I encourage you simply to look over these passages and be challenged by Scripture to strive daily for honor, integrity, and excellence of character in your life.


Fight the good fight of faith; take hold of the eternal life to which you were called… I charge you, in the presence of God… that you keep this commandment without stain or reproach until the appearing of our Lord Jesus Christ. – 1 Timothy 6:12-14

My lips will not speak wickedness, and my tongue will utter no deceit… Until I die, I will not put away my integrity from me. – Job 27:4-5

Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him. – Job 13:15

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt speech far from your lips. Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your eyes on what lies before you… Do not turn to the right nor to the left; turn your foot from evil. – Prov. 4:23-27

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, nor stand in the path of sinners, nor sit in the seat of scoffers. – Psalm 1:1

A good name is better than a fine perfume. – Eccl. 7:1

Better is a poor man whose walk is blameless, than a fool whose lips are perverse. – Prov. 19:1

May integrity and uprightness protect me, for my hope is in you. – Psalm 25:21

We also have joy in our sufferings, knowing that tribulation produces endurance; and endurance, proven character; and proven character, hope. – Rom. 5:3-4

Humility and the fear of the LORD bring wealth, honor and life. – Prov. 22:4

Like a muddied spring and a polluted well, is a righteous man who gives way to the wicked. – Prov. 25:26

Like a city who’s walls are broken down, is a man without self-control. – Prov. 25:28

A fool vents his anger, but a wise man holds it back. – Prov. 29:11

Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things… Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I discipline my body unto self-control, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified. – 1 Cor. 9:25-27

But you, man of God… pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness. – 1 Tim. 6:11

Suffer hardship with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. No soldier in active service entangles himself in the affairs of everyday life, so that he may please the one who enlisted him as a soldier. Also if anyone competes as an athlete, he does not win the prize unless he competes according to the rules. – 2 Tim. 2:3-5

About Tweed Tavern

We exist to exhort passionate followers of Christ to think more deeply about their faith, and to challenge deep thinkers to become more passionate followers of Christ. Throughout history, taverns have provided a venue for theological and political debate. Hoping to honor that tradition, welcome to the Tavern!
This entry was posted in Manhood/Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

